Skip to content

Backyard Conservative got a Memeorandum thread! Oh, and Bill Ayers confesses to writing Obama’s book!

October 6, 2009

It’s right here. Seems BC proprietor Anne Leary – yes, the Anne Leary: the blogger who took the single best picture of the 2008 Republican National Convention – bumped into domestic terrorist-turned professor Bill Ayers, got a picture, and…

Then, unprompted he said–I wrote Dreams From My Father. I said, oh, so you admit it. He said–Michelle asked me to. I looked at him. He seemed eager. He’s about my height, short. He went on to say–and if you can prove it, we can split the royalties.

Quite a bombshell. That Ayers wrote President Obama’s book, that is – I wasn’t referring to Anne. Not that Anne isn’t a bombshell…

Let’s refocus this before I get into trouble.

Go read the whole thing. Kind of a big deal, seeing as how Obama denied any relationship with Ayers during the campaign.

Plus, if we can help Anne prove it, the beer’s on her. That’s a lot of royalties.

UPDATE - loving the traffic from Salon.com and The Huffington Post – thanks for coming! Both are making the case that Ayers was, as Salon writer Alex Koppelman puts it, “jerking some chains.” If so, then, hey: well-jerked, Mr. Ayers.

Although: please note that Anne reports specifically saying to him:

I said I believe you probably heavily edited it. He said–I wrote it. I said–why would I believe you, you’re a liar.

He had no answer to that. Just looked at me. Then he turned and walked off, and said again his bit about my proving it and splitting the proceeds.

She doubted him as he was saying it. Just keep that in mind, before you leap to the conclusion that Anne got hornswaggled.

Did I get hornswaggled? Yeah, maybe. I could have put something like “if true” in that third paragraph. I’ll be more careful if I write on this topic again. But, really, big whoop. I was just horning in on Anne’s Memeorandum traffic.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Dreams From Bill Ayers

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers