Skip to content

Look, I’m not falling for this “Danica Patrick going to NASCAR” thing again.

November 5, 2009

It’s like the story that never dies. The Neverending Story. Which was kind of a stupid movie, really, if you like things like plot and character and writing, although if you went to see that movie looking for those things I kind of question your intelligence in the first place.

Danica PatrickOh, fine, let’s talk about this again:

Sources: Danica Near NASCAR Deal

IndyCar Series and crossover media star Danica Patrick is nearing completion of a two-year contract with JR Motorsports, the NASCAR Nationwide Series operation owned by Dale Earnhardt Jr., and a source close to the negotiations described the talks as being “in the final phase.”

A second source close to the situation confirmed the deal is moving forward, saying “talks are moving in a very positive direction and it would probably be a surprise if it didn’t happen.”

Hey, here’s an idea: let’s hold our breath this time!

Or, no, wait, maybe that’s not such a good idea. I think we’ve been talking about Danica jumping to NASCAR since…oh, sometime in 2005. Every couple months, every few weeks or so, the story pops right back up again.

And then a few weeks later, it pops back up again. And then again. And then again.

And we all dutifully write about it.

I’m starting to wonder just how much of this is PR on the Patrick camp’s part – keep teasing the media to keep her name in the news. And then, of course, the media bites at whatever bait they throw out because they figure people want to read it because Danica’s Danica and maybe people figure there’ll be a picture of her in the story.

danica-patrick-si-swimsuit-feb-08

Which, frequently, there is.

Well I’m drawing the line. I’ve written my last “Danica jumping to NASCAR” post unless (until) she actually signs with a NASCAR team. Until then, I stand on principle. Traffic be damned.

10 Comments
  1. November 5, 2009 11:45 pm

    Will she or won’t she? They are nice pictures you always still seem to find.

    If she does will you become a NASCAR fan?

  2. November 6, 2009 8:55 am

    I’m not even an IRL fan. Turn left! Turn left!

  3. jennifer permalink
    November 8, 2009 1:26 am

    If i could gwt paid to race there would be no collage needed. my dreams will have come true, i wished to be the first Nascar but i guess ill be second i just want an opportunity

  4. jennifer permalink
    November 8, 2009 1:29 am

    Give me ar ice to start off my career! and i would prosue it

  5. dan permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:24 am

    Hey guess what…..she’s in NASCAR now, weird how you were totally wrong.

  6. Kat Moussette permalink
    February 23, 2010 4:26 pm

    I seriously hope Danica races Nascar circuit. It has always been a dream of mine sinece my father was a stock car racer and I grew up with it. I got pregnant with my son as myself and my Dad were building me a car. so needless to say I never got to race. then with a lifetime of seriuos medical issues I was never able to do it. I think it would be great to have a woman in Nascar especially a beautiful woman that does what she wants no matter what anyone says!! So you GO GIRL and Show Them Whats UP!! Just take it easy on Jimmie Johnson! LOL! I am a true #48 fan. But I will def be routing you on! My son is 32 and a die hard Nascar fan and is so excited about this he thinks she will do great and he also says shes nice on the eyes!!! GOOD LUCK!! Hoipe to see you on the track!!

  7. Tomas the Scottie permalink
    March 17, 2010 9:28 am

    The funniest part was where you used your personal pronoun and “principle” in the same sentence. Oh god! I’m rolling on the floor again!!!!

    She is the story; you are the whore; live with it.

Trackbacks

  1. Keeley’s Broken Window Lesson
  2. What do the reconciliation process and Danica Patrick have in common? | Right Wing News
  3. He’ll be back soon « The TrogloPundit

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers