Skip to content

If “denying women access to contraceptives” is wrong…

March 5, 2012

…All American Blogger wants to know why religious belief is trumping his rights, too:

…having established my right to bacon, Muslim deli owners have no right to deny me access to a delicious bacon sandwich just because their holy book tells them not to eat it.

They have no right to force their religious beliefs on me. The federal government has a Constitutional obligation to secure my right to bacon, and I think the best way to do this is for Congress to pass a law mandating all restaurants to serve bacon.

And then they should mandate that insurance companies have to pay for it. “Mental health parity,” you see.

On the same subject, Grandpa Steve’s well-being is in danger due to the rising cost of ammunition:

Hello, distinguished members of the committee. My name is Grandpa Steve. I like to shoot my .38′s and my 9mm a lot. But it is getting expensive. The cost of eye and ear protection is rising. The increased expense of ammunition, gun cleaning and repair equipment, reloading supplies, targets, range fees, and concealed carry permits have caused me and countless fellow shooters to use cheaper products.

Don’t you deny me my Second Amendment rights! Pay for my handgun!

One more, from a commenter at The Anchoress:

We all know that the medical community has recognized the benefits of red wine for the human heart. Resveratrol is found in the tannins apparently. Heart disease is the leading cause of death in the United States. Therefore I think it is high time that insurance policies cover red wine. Does the Obama administration have any idea what a good bottle of cabernet sauvignon costs?

Come to think of it, coffee drinking helps prevent Altzheimer’s. But dang, it’s expensive!

And, y’know, I just spent something like $70 on a new pair of running shoes. Shouldn’t I be compensated for that? Imagine all the health problems I’m staving off by running three times a week. I’m saving you money!

Additional thought: and if eating subsidized bacon and drinking subsidized red wine turns us all into fat alcoholics, we can always count on the government for weight loss and alcohol programs!

2 Comments
  1. March 5, 2012 7:32 pm

    As a candidate for … uh, something (http://steveprestegard.com/2012/03/05/vote-for-me-and-ill-set-you-free/ — and a nice job on your part) … I want a Corvette. I think Congress should pass a law mandating that everyone with my name get a free Corvette. (With manual transmission; automatics are for wusses.)

  2. March 5, 2012 10:20 pm

    Why does Lester want to piss off Netanyahu for??

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers