Skip to content

Could we just stipulate from now on that anything said about Barack Obama is by definition racist? Just to save time?

April 20, 2012

I’m surprised he didn’t evoke “Mission Accomplished:”

Mitt Romney’s ‘Obama Isn’t Working’ Banner Evokes Racial Stereotypes

When I first saw the banner this afternoon, the multiple meanings were clear: President Obama‘s policies aren’t working, the Obama presidency isn’t working, President Obama…isn’t working, as in, doing any work. That’s not a nice thing to say about any president, but like it or not, it becomes a more loaded accusation when leveled at our first black president.

Just to be sure it wasn’t just me, though, I asked several friends about the banner, and four out of four pointed out, unprompted, the stereotype of the “lazy,” “shiftless” black man. One of the people I called was cable news fixture Goldie Taylor, who, upon hearing my description of the banner, said “Are you kidding me? You have got to be kidding me.”

That’s Tommy Christopher, writing at Mediaite. Here’s the banner:

Racist!

At what point do average non-political-fanatics – the majority of Americans, in other words – begin thinking to themselves: fer cry-eye. Everything is racist with this guy.

I’m not the most objective judge, but I’m thinking: soon. If not already.

So. Keep it up, Tommy. Good work.

Memeorandum.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers