Oh, sure, this the NFL admits was a mistake.
An inadvertent whistle and subsequent improper ruling cost the Redskins on Sunday:
It happened with 24 seconds left in the first quarter. Down 3-0, the Panthers had driven down to the Washington 30-yard line from their own 31, and Williams was off to the races. There was only one problem — like judge Thomas Symonette inadvertently blew his whistle at the 17-yard line, right about the time Williams was close to going out of bounds. Redskins linebacker Perry Riley later said that he would have pushed Williams out of bounds had he not heard the whistle. On the video above, you can clearly hear the whistle.
Referee Carl Cheffers said after the game that the officiating crew decided that Williams was already in the end zone when the whistle was blown…
…On Monday, the NFL clarified what should have happened in a statement.
“By rule, Carolina should have been given a choice of putting the ball in play where Williams was ruled to have stepped out of bounds — first and 10 from the Washington 17 — or replaying the down — first and 10 from the Washington 30,” the league said.
I’m on record, having said emphatically that the Packers had plenty of chances to win their game at Seattle, and that we must not allow bitterness over that obviously blown call to color the entire season. And, it appears, the Packers aren’t allowing that.
But if the NFL could “admit” that mistake, why can’t they also admit this one?