Skip to content

“Contrast the morality of having to serve your fellow man in order to have a claim on what your fellow man produces with government allocation.”

November 13, 2012

Dr. Walter Williams, giving an interview to Prager University:

My favorite part:

What is moral about the free market?

I believe that the free market is morally superior to other ways of organizing human behavior. And the reason why is that the free market implies voluntary actions on behalf of human beings. For example, when I mow your lawn, you give me $20, what’s that $20 really mean? Well, it means that when I go down to the supermarket, and I tell the supermarket guy, look: I would like to have 10 pounds of steak that my fellow man produced and a six pack of beer that my fellow man produced. And he in effect says to me: well, you want your fellow man to serve you, what did you do to serve him? Well I say I mowed his lawn. He says: prove it. Then I offer this $20. You kind of think of this $20 as certificates of performance. It’s proof that I’ve served my fellow man. Now, contrast the morality of having to serve your fellow man in order to have a claim on what your fellow man produces with government allocation. Now, the government can come tell me: look, William, you didn’t have to get out in the hot sun to mow your fellow man’s lawn. We will take what he produces and give it to you.

By the way: is Walter Williams really tall? I’ve got it in my head that he’s something like 6’7 or 6’8. Does anybody know? I may have somehow gotten him confused with a Walt Williams who played for six different NBA teams, although that would be weird since I don’t follow the NBA at all.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers