Skip to content

Which of these headlines do you figure is the least offensive?

January 14, 2013
  • Headline #1: Finally, I Believe It’s Time to Announce That I’m Straight.

That’s right. Het. Er. Oh. You may not like it, but it’s who I am.

  • Or headline #2: What Does John Hinckley Jr. Think About This?

Maybe one of those child-interviewing reporters from Connecticut could go and ask him.

jodi foster golden globesHere’s the story:

Delivering a rambling and confessional speech, Jodie Foster, honored for the Cecil B. DeMille award for lifetime achievement in film at the 70th Annual Golden Globes, addressed rumors that she is a lesbian. She said, “I’m just going to put it out there, loud and proud, right? I am…single. I’m kidding.”

She added that she did her coming out to friends a long time ago (though not in a public forum), acknowledged she had a female partner when she thanked Cydney Bernard, who she also called out as the co-parent of their children.

There, is, apparently, mixed reception of her announcement, and… well, so what?

If I were a member (or a groupie) of the gay community (whatever that is – do they all live in the same place?), I’d be wondering right about now why it’s still news when somebody comes out, and whether the very fact that it is news isn’t itself somehow degrading.

One Comment
  1. January 15, 2013 9:33 am

    My constant comment is, “Why would someone choose to define who they are by the manner in which they engage in sex?” It’s just plain weird…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers