Skip to content

Yuri Fujikawa “too beautiful” to be a politician?

April 6, 2009

UPDATE – Bienvenido!

Or maybe it’s just that she’s going out of her way to show that beauty off.

On the surface, this post probably looks like a blatant and shallow grab for blog traffic via Rules #1 and #5. And…well, yeah, okay, you got me. But bear with me here, because I’m actually going to have a point.

First, the story:

Yuri Fujikawa, 28, who is a local politician in Hachinohe City, Aomori Prefecture, has been a topic of conversation on the Internet since she was elected in April, 2007. She has been called by bloggers “too beautiful” to be a politician. Apparently, she has alienated some of her political supporters because of her exposure in an upcoming photo album and DVD, in which she poses in a swimsuit.

Just so we all know what we’re talking about, here, and not because pictures of pretty girls bring the hits (and as we all know, hits is hits), here are screenshots from that DVD:

fujikawa-yuri09-snow-910x1024

Click to see it in a larger size.

Knowing as little as I do about Japan, it’s hard to assess this: this young woman comes from a political family, got some work as a model, and then followed her father into politics. She’s also continuing to model even while she’s in office.

Any American politician who did something similar while in office would absolutely face criticism – whether fair or unfair – from political opponents (see: Governor Jesse Ventura as an XFL commentator). Maybe she just didn’t realize that.

Or…maybe she did realize it. Japan is still (I think) far more culturally patriarchal than the U.S. It would be more difficult for a Japanese woman to gain traction, I’m betting, in politics.

Knowing that bikini modeling would bring criticism says to me that she’s counting on that criticism. She’s counting on the notoriety. To help further her political career? Maybe, unless I’m right about that cultural patriarchism I mentioned before. If so, then she’s counting on it to sell DVDs, and to further her modeling career.

And good for her, I say. I say: Yuri, please be sure to use these powers with which you’ve been blessed for good, and not for evil.

shashinshu_cover yuri

8 Comments
  1. April 8, 2009 12:46 am

    suddenly i’m more interested in Japanese politics

  2. thehawaiianlion permalink
    April 20, 2009 5:51 am

    I’m not 100% sure but I think she did modeling for a while before becoming a politician. I translated a Japanese article about why she won on my blog if anyone’s interested.

  3. September 18, 2009 4:33 am

    I deleted thehawaiianlion blog and created a new blog.

    At the new site, there is a English translation of her Wikipedia page, personal home page, and a Japanese new article on her.

Trackbacks

  1. Yuri Fujikawa « The TrogloPundit
  2. Yesterday was the first time in a while that most of my random hits didn’t come from people searching for Yuri… « The TrogloPundit
  3. Did Yuri Fujikawa do something notable today? « The TrogloPundit
  4. Another day, another 500 people searching for Yuri Fujikawa « The TrogloPundit
  5. Headline: Supermodel Kathy Ireland Lashes Out Against Pro Choice « The TrogloPundit

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers